Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation

Harford Community College Repeats as NJCAA Men's Lacrosse Champion

12 May 2024

Our Fighting Owls women's and men's LAX teams took flight this past weekend and soared! Our women's team flew all the way to the NJCAA Women's Lacrosse Invitational semifinals and our men swooped in to capture their second NJCAA National Championship title.BEL AIR, Md. — Harford Community College (Md.) defended its national championship title with a 16-6 victory over in-state rival CCBC Essex on Sunday.

The Fighting Owls avenged their lone loss of the season that came against the Knights in the District Championship by winning the ultimate prize — a second straight national title.

Harford’s Kohl Wesner was named the Steve Caravana Offensive Player of the Tournament with 11 goals and one assist in two games.

The Knights came out of the gates firing with two consecutive goals, but Harford responded with two goals of their own. The first quarter ended with a 3-all tie. The Fighting Owls then held CCBC Essex scoreless in the second quarter while they scored three goals to take a 6-3 lead going into halftime.

Harford scored five goals in each of the final two quarters, while holding CCBC Essex to score three goals three rest of the way. Harford locked down on defense in the fourth to hold the Knights scoreless in the final 15 minutes.

CCBC Essex put together an impressive run to the national championship game as the No. 1 seed. The Knights won their semifinal matchup over Onondaga 13-8 to force an all-Maryland battle for the championship.

Harford long-stick midfielder Ryan Sweiderk was named the Steve Caravana Defensive Player of the Tournament with 14 ground balls and nine caused turnovers in two games.

Fighting Owls head coach Aaron Verardi was named the Coach of the Tournament.

The National Junior College Athletic Association



The National Junior College Athletic Association, founded in 1938, is the governing association of community college, state college and junior college athletics throughout the United States.



Nancy Dysard

Director for Communications

Sheila Terry

Assistant Director for Public Relations