Blending modern with historic, the Hays-Heighe House connects the past to the present.
Built in 1808, and renovated in 2007, this historic property now acts as a museum for community members to learn about our heritage through tours, exhibits, and programming. The building is also used for classes, workshops, meetings, and other special events, as well as a rental facility for outside groups. We invite you to discover this unique resource.
History of the Hays-Heighe House
1808: Archer and Hanna Hays build the 2-story stone farmhouse.
1828: Property becomes known as Prospect Hill Farm.
1840s: East wing addition built.
1921: Property acquired by Robert and Anne Heighe.
1964: Farm becomes campus of Harford Junior College, where the House is used as an administration building.
1972: House is named to the National Register of Historic Places.
2002: Administration offices move from the House, where AMC Decorator Showcase is held.
2006: Community & Campus Steering Committee determines future use.
2007: First of three renovation phases begins.
2009: Community focus group meetings held.
2010: June ribbon cutting ceremony, September exhibit opening.
2011: Open for community use and special events.