The Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor society of two-year colleges at Harford Community College, inducted new members into the Honor Society on September 29. The Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed 12 credit hours at HCC and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

The ceremony opened with a welcome from Harford Community College President, Dr. Dianna G. Phillips. She was followed by guest speaker Dr. Sharon Stowers, Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences at Harford Community College. Dozens of family members and friends attended the event to celebrate their loved one's academic achievement.

The following students were formally inducted into the Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa: Ashley Anderson, Maura Bair, Erin Bongiorno, Jacquelyn Bruff, Rebecca Dawson, Cyrelle De Guzman, Yasmeen Espinal, Shelley Gibson, Theresa Jenkins, Isabella Mascelli, Leo Mascelli, Keiko Myers, Cherie Ndungu, Dongkyu Park, Bradley Polk, Brittny Sutton, April Thomas, Luna Thomas, Cody Thompson, and Rebecca Webb.

The Executive Officers of the Rho Beta Chapter of PTK for the 2019-2020 academic year are Erin Piscitelli, President; William Mitchell, Executive Vice President; Edith Kpalbil, Vice President of Chapter Events; Mason Mullaney, Administrative Vice President; Quinn Bero, Vice President of Leadership; and Jay Kim, Vice President of Scholarship.

For more information on Harford Community College's Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society, Rho Beta Chapter, call 443-412-2076 or email