The Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges at Harford Community College, inducted new members into the honor society on October 13. Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To be eligible for membership into the Rho Beta Chapter, a student must have completed 12 credit hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5.

HCC Vice President for Student Affairs and Institutional Effectiveness Dr. Jacqueline Jackson offered congratulatory remarks to the students for their achievement, while Elizabeth Mosser, Harford Community College’s Director for Academic Operations and Services, gave the keynote address.  Phi Theta Kappa Advisors Jennifer Jacobs and Courtney Gurrera conducted the remainder of the ceremony, with the support of Advisor Katie Lohinski, who was unfortunately not able to attend due to her role as a presenter at the MACRA (Mid-Atlantic College Reading Association) conference. Dozens of family members and friends of the inductees attended the event and enjoyed refreshments after the ceremony.

Forty-six new members joined Phi Theta Kappa in fall 2017 semester; 16 attended the induction ceremony. New members include Jacquelyn Boening, Nicole Carey, Lauren Cernik*, Nelson Chicas-Rivas, Anna Corselius*, Nadine Countess, Stephanie Crutchley, Lindsay Davis*, Leigh Dill, Hailee Domich, Georgia Garcia*, Kathryn Grafton, Benton Halsey, Erika Hayes, Zachary Herbert, Cierra Hovermill*, Michael Hutchison, Justina Knoefler, Samantha Koga, Briar Lauer, Georgeanne Lynch*, Haley MacIntosh, Ioanna Manolis, Nicolas Montuffar, Christina Myers, Bethany Naus, Joshua Numbers, Paolo Prezioso, Rozelle Rich*, Chelsea Rorie*, Delmorita Samuel*, Alexandra Scannell, Giana Scotto, Jacob Smedley*, Timothy Sturla, Kyning Tillinghast, Drashti Vasaiwala*, Meaghan Vaughn*, Colton Vesely, John Vu*, Jordan Waite, Eric Walther*, Paige Watkins*, Krista Wilcox*, Moriah Yousefi, and Abigail Zylka.  Photos of the event are available at

The Executive Officers for 2017-2018 are Hope Timoll, President; Joanna Marchsteiner, President Elect; Sarah Kilduff, VP of Chapter Events; Efia Ofosu-Ntiamoah, Vice President of Public Relations; and Ruby Tetteh, Vice President for Scholarly Projects & Research.

For more information on Harford Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society, Rho Beta Chapter, please contact Advisor Jennifer Jacobs at, Advisor Katie Lohinski at, or Advisor Courtney Gurrera at

*Attended the induction ceremony