Requirements for Academic Skills Assessment

You must show a valid photo ID, before being given a test.  Please see the Photo ID Requirements to determine the type of ID required.

New Students

Recent high school graduates will be required to complete an iPlan session. For more information, visit the link on "Getting Started" at the Admissions website or contact the Admissions Office at 443-412-2109.

Students who have not completed College Level English or Math, nor earned qualifying SAT or ACT scores, may be referred to the Test Center to complete the Academic Skills Assessment. Please see the table below for exemptions in taking the Academic Skills Assessment.

Note: Effective for Spring 2016 semester, qualifying college level SAT scores for Math and Critical Reading are 500 or higher.

Continuing Education Students

Some Continuing Education Certificate-seeking students planning to register for classes must have the related academic skills. Contact the Continuing Education Department at
443-412-2376 to find out the required assessments needed to register for classes.

The table below indicates the exemptions for taking the Academic Skills Assessment:

You are exempt from: If you meet one of the following:
  • SAT Critical Reading Score- 500 or higher
  • ACT Writing Score- 21 or higher
  • Passed English Composition (English 101)
  • SAT Critical Reading Score- 500 or higher
  • ACT Reading Score- 21 or higher
  • Passed English Composition (English 101)
  • SAT Math Score- 500 or higher
  • ACT Math Score- 21 or higher
  • Passed College Level Math Course
All Assessments
  • Have earned an Associate or Baccalaureate degree (Transcript required)


You may retest 24 hours after the initial test.  After two attempts within a two year period a $25 proctoring fee will be assigned for all subsequent attempts.  For more information, contact the Test Center at 443-412-2352.

Assessment scores, SAT scores and ACT scores are valid for a period of two years. If you do not begin the appropriate course sequence within the two year period, you must repeat the assessment.